Homepage Writers Who newsroom

Southern NSW wheat champion announced

Announcement posted by Writers Who 15 Jan 2022

Wallendbeen wheat growers win regional title

Wallendbeen wheat growers Garry and Daniel Mickan have taken out the regional championship in a prestigious annual wheat competition.

Run by AgShows NSW (the peak body for 192 shows), the Suncorp Bank Championship Dryland Field Wheat Competition is judged across four regions ahead of the state final. 

In the southern region, the Mickan Bros’ 8.3t/ha scored 236 ahead of S Zweck and J Ellis of Henty (8.5t/ha 234pts) and Stockinbingal Pastoral Co in Wallendbeen (8.2t/ha 233pts). Garry Mickan entered the competition this year as a tribute to his late brother who had also won a coveted state wheat competition. 

The southern region covers Albury, Ariah Park, Boorowa, Coolamon, Cootamundra, Culcairn, Harden, Henty, Holbrook, Howlong, Illabo, Junee, Puccawan, Temora, The Rock, Wagga Wagga, Walbundrie, Wallendbeen and Young. 

“The central and southern regions were hard to beat in 2021 thanks to favourable seasonal conditions, and the skill of those producers to make the most of their conditions,” AgShows NSW president Tim Capp said. 

“While the wheat competition is typically a yield-based competition, if a grower has made the best of the local season, spraying and feeding the crop to grow an optimal plant base it should perform well in the competition,” Mr Capp said.

Past state dryland wheat state champions include Yarrabah Pastoral Company in 2020 from central New South Wales, Scott & Julia McLeod in 2019 from the south and Illinois Farms in 2018.

The winners were announced at the state final in Dubbo last night. 

This year’s competition is sponsored by Suncorp Bank, The Land, Lowes Petroleum and Stoller Australia.


Media Contacts

Additional Resources

Download our logo


Follow Us

On Twitter