Homepage Candice Meisels PR newsroom


Announcement posted by Candice Meisels PR 11 May 2022



WA, Perth, 11th May 2022, Sarah, The Duchess of York is a global humanitarian, businesswoman, historical novelist and children’s book author, speaker, producer and wellness advocate.  Today, in conjunction with Serenity Press, The Duchess announces, Demon’s Land, The Southport Series, a series of three young adult books co-written with Michelle Worthington. The book releases on the 31st of June 2022.

Demons Land is The Duchess’s latest endeavour into young adult fiction with this novel being a part of a 22-book deal with Australian based book publisher, Serenity Press.

The Duchess has published over 70 books including two autobiographies and titles dealing with health, empowerment, history, art, as well as novels and children's stories. Her debut historical novel Her Heart as a Compass by Harper Collins was published globally on August 3rd and is on the Sunday Times bestseller list. Her second historical novel is to be published by Harper Collins in January 2023, along with her latest book, Demons Land, a series of three young adult books co-written with Michelle Worthington.

Sarah, The Duchess of York says: “Young adults are perhaps the fastest-growing category of new fiction today. There’s just something about adolescence — with all its incredible triumphs and heartbreaking failures— that makes it the perfect backdrop for powerful storytelling. I wanted to share my story of growing up with anxiety and an eating disorder, along with witnessing firsthand the effects of generational trauma. For me, it is always present and it all started at the loss of my mother. With my charity work, I’m in constant contact with young people and I have so much empathy for everything they have been through in the past two years. They are a capable and compassionate generation and their help as consultants on this book to make sure we captured the essence of what it’s like to be a teenager today was instrumental in the writing of the book.”

Co-author, Michelle Worthington adds: “I was honoured to be asked to form part of this project and always enjoyed my brainstorming and writing sessions with The Duchess. I very much appreciate her warmth, professionalism and value highly her advice based on extensive research into her YA audience. She went out of her way to articulate and clarify exactly what messages she wanted to share in the series based on her personal experiences and took the time to listen to mine. Her personalised approach challenged me to improve the manuscript and become the best support I could be to her vision. This series is a testament to her courage.”

Demon’s Land, Sarah Ferguson

The Southport Series: Book One of Three



Jude loved photography. It captured the truth. It shone a light on what was hidden. It proved that every day was not the same, even though it felt like it. Every. Damn. Day.

That is, until CeCe came into his life. Could this beautiful mysterious girl from the other side of the world be right about his potential to be a professional photographer or should he listen to his best friend Abel and not rock the boat?

A poignant coming-of-age story set at the bottom of the world in the remote fishing village of Southport, the southernmost township in Australia. The first book in the Southport Series deals with ancestry, legacy and trauma that defines a generation.

Releasing 31 June 2022 by Serenity Press 

Pages: 118

Paperback: $12.95 AUD 

Hardback: $22.95 AUD 

Genre: Young Adult

Themes: Coming of Age / Rural Australia / Teen


If you would like an extract, interview or the flip book, please get in touch.

Media Contact: 

Candice Meisels 


 0481 369 484

Media Contacts

Candice Meisels

PR Consultant

0481 369 484

Additional Resources

Download our logo