| Share

Optus IT Journalism Awards now open

13th annual awards welcomes Optus as new sponsor

Optus is the new naming rights sponsor of the IT Journalism Awards, with entries now open for the 13th annual awards.

The Optus IT Journalism Awards evening will be held on May 9 at the Crystal Palace, Luna Park in Sydney. Nominations for the awards, affectionately also known as ‘The Lizzies’, are open now and close on March 21, 2014.

Entries can be submitted at the Lizzies website under Enter the Awards: http://www.thelizzies.com/enter-the-awards/

David Epstein, VP corporate and regulatory affairs at Optus said that the telecommunications company is “proud to be associated with recognising the valuable work of Australia’s ICT journalist community, and welcomes the opportunity as naming rights sponsor of these very important awards”.

“Technology touches every aspect of our lives and The Australian ICT media are recognised thought leaders in this area – providing valuable commentary, analysis and reporting on how and where it will impact consumers and business alike.”

This year’s awards, which recognise journalism and media created and published in the calendar year of 2013, will include all 20 journalism and media categories awarded last year, plus the popular Best Media Relations award. Additionally, Optus will present an ICT Analyst of the Year award for the first time at this year’s awards, at a special pre-dinner cocktail event.

“For the past 12 years, the IT Journo awards have been the industry’s most prominent, but this year we’re also recognising the important contribution of industry analysts. They play a crucial role providing in-depth commentary and analysis on technology trends and industry direction."

"We’re pleased to announce the inaugural Optus ICT Analyst of the Year award,” Mr Epstein said.

Tickets for the event will go on sale shortly, with nearly 350 journalists, PR professionals and IT industry executives attending last year’s awards.
This year’s awards will nominate journalists and media in the following categories:
  1. Best Title
  2. Best Journalist
  3. Best Magazine
  4. Best Website
  5. Best Audio Program
  6. Best Video Program
  7. Best News Coverage
  8. Best News Journalist
  9. Best Business Tech Coverage
  10. Best Business Tech Journalist
  11. Best Tech Industry Journalist
  12. Best Personal Tech Coverage
  13. Best Consumer Tech Journalist
  14. Best Telco Journalist
  15. Best Gaming Coverage
  16. Best Gaming Journalist
  17. Best Columnist
  18. Best Reviewer
  19. Best New Journalist
  20. Best Technical Journalist
  21. Best Independent Coverage
Best Media Relations (For PR professionals)