| Share

NSW Mining and Suppliers Awards - The Winners!

Last week saw the NSW Mining and Suppliers Awards take place in Parliament House, Sydney. Over 250 people gathered to celebrate the triumphs and successes of our sector over the last 12 months, even in the face of adversity.

Austmine was the proud sponsor of the Outstanding Contribution to Mining Award, which recognises the positive contribution made to mining by an individual that has demonstrated outstanding leadership, innovation or performance. The winner of this award was Tony McPaul, General Manager Cadia Valley Operations, Newcrest Mining, for his ongoing commitment to the site, and to the sector as a whole in NSW through his involvement in the NSW Minerals Council. Tony retires from the industry in July of this year, and this award was more than deserved in acknowledgement of his contribution to the industry.

The night was an exciting one across the board for Austmine, with three of our members all battling it out as finalists in the OutstandingSimon%20RPM%20accepting.jpg?ver=2016-05- Suppliers Category. Pulse Mining SystemsBanlaw and RungePincockMinarco were all up for the award, which recognises a business that can demonstrate excellence in working with the NSW minerals industry, adding value to mining operations and demonstrating great relationships with the client.

RungePincockMinarco (RPM) were the winners on the night, with Simon Askey-Doran, Business Executive accepting the award for RPM. This recognition of RPM’s ongoing commitment to and collaboration with many throughout the mining industry was fantastic to see. Congratulations from the whole Austmine team to RPM!
Speaking of this achievement, Philippe Baudry, Executive General Manager – Advisory said “We could not be prouder of the achievements of our entire Australian Advisory team. RPM’s internationally renowned Advisory team prides itself on being active members of the industry and an example of how innovative operating practices can ensure resilience in such a tough market."

Kari%20and%20Whitehaven.jpg?ver=2016-05-We were also delighted to see another of our members, Quarry Mining, supporting the sector through sponsorship of the Mining Operation of the Year Award. Kari Armitage, Managing Director of Quarry Mining, who will also be speaking at the NSW Mining Conference today on the suppliers panel, along with Simon Askey-Doran from RPM, congratulated the winner, Whitehaven Coal’s Maules Creek operation. Maules Creek were nominated for their entering production 3 months ahead of schedule and just 359 days after approvals were granted.

Other awards on the night included the Young Achiever in Mining Award, which went to Kate Swain of McCullough and Robertson and the Exceptional Woman in Mining Award, won by Raelene O'Brien of Glencore Coal Assets Australia. The Small Business Achievement Award was presented to Airspeed Aviation.