Homepage Pearcey Foundation newsroom

Founder of the Tech Girls Movement Jenine Beekhuyzen wins Queensland’s 2017 Pearcey Award

Announcement posted by Pearcey Foundation 06 Oct 2017

Sarah-Jane Peterschlingmann and Professor Wei Xiang receive highly commended awards from the Pearcey Foundation
The Pearcey Foundation today announced the winner of the 2017 Pearcey Queensland Entrepreneur Award. The award was presented to Adroit Research founder Jenine Beekhuyzen at the 2017 Qld ICT Industry Awards, an event also recognising Queensland winners from seven other ICT industry organisations. (See further See https://pearcey.org.au/2017-qld-ict-awards.)

ATech founder Sarah-Jane Peterschlingmann and Wei Xiang, Foundation Professor and Head of Discipline of Electronics Systems and Internet of Things (IoT) Engineering at James Cook University were recognised with highly commended awards by the Pearcey Foundation at the event.

Beekhuyzen also founded the Tech Girls Movement, a not-for-profit organisation with the goal of engaging 10,000 girls in Science, Technology, Engineering and Maths (STEM) entrepreneurship by 2020. Through its activities, the organisation has distributed over 75,000 free copies of its inspirational book, Tech Girls are Superheroes, to school girls across Australia.

The Queensland Pearcey Award judging committee was chaired by Professor Bill Caelli, and the award was presented by the Hon Leeanne Enoch MP, Queensland’s Minister for Innovation, Science and the Digital Economy and Minister for Small Business.

“Jenine is a very worthy Pearcey award winner, especially for her focus on encouraging STEM education and entrepreneurship in our younger generation. This is where the economic prosperity of our nation will be created into the future,” said the Pearcey Foundation’s national chairman Wayne Fitzsimmons, who spoke at the Queensland event.

“Jenine’s efforts are having a positive impact on girls at high school in Australia choosing a career path in STEM. This is closely aligned to the work that Jo Burston and her team are doing globally with ‘Inspiring Rare Birds’, which is great to see,” continued Fitzsimmons.

For more information about the 2017 Pearcey Queensland Entrepreneur Award, go to https://pearcey.org.au/qld.

Other State Awards
A number of other State Awards have already been announced:

ACT: the joint winners were Mark Riley, co-founder and CTO of ContentKeeper and Phillip Williamson, co-founder and Chief Innovator at Intelledox.

VIC: the winners were husband and wife team Collis and Cyan Ta'eed, co-founders, owners and managers of Envato, a major global marketplace for creative assets and creative people based in Melbourne.

WA: WA’s inaugural Pearcey State Award was presented to ICT startup mentor and leader Matthew Macfarlane.

SA: the award was presented to Kloud founder and Business SA director Geoff Rohrsheim.

The final state award to be presented is the NSW winner, which will be announced on 24 October 2017 at a networking function in Sydney.

About the Pearcey Foundation
The Pearcey Foundation Inc. is a non-profit organisation established in 1998 to raise the profile of the Australian Information and Communications Technology (ICT) industry and profession. It was created in the memory of one of the greatest pioneers of the Australian ICT industry, Dr Trevor Pearcey. By celebrating the heroes in our industry, past present and future, the Foundation is looking to attract and encourage young Australians into this most exciting of global high technology sectors of our nation.
Web: www.pearcey.org.au and on Twitter: @Pearcey_org

Media Contacts

Additional Resources

Download our logo