| Share

Architecture & Design announces official Shortlist for 12th Sustainability Awards

The official shortlist for Architecture & Design’s 2018 Sustainability Awards has been finalised, which means we are now ready for the Gala Awards ceremony, that will be held on 11 October at The Star.  


Architecture & Design, which has hosted Australia’s longest running sustainable building awards, also acknowledges Australian designers and architects working towards a more efficient and ecologically friendly built environment.


Following a near-record submission of almost 200 nominations, an esteemed panel of judges has finalised a selection of projects and designs they believe best satisfy the various criteria across 15 industry-specific categories.


The Jury for 2018 Sustainability Awards

·       Dick Clarke (Jury Chair)

·       Kate Harris

·       Rory Martin

·       Steffen Welsch

·       Suzanne Toumbourou

·       Jeremy Mansfield

·       Caroline Pidcock

·       Jeremy Spencer

·       Michael Faine

·       Tim Horton

·       Kerryn Wilmot

·       Robin Mellon


The Shortlist for 2018 Sustainability Awards



2018 Shortlist

2017 Winner

Smart Building

·       8 Chifley Square, Sydney

·       Smart Home

New category.

Single Dwelling, New

·       Drumkerin

·       Jenny’s House

·       The Shed

Downsize Up(Grade) House

Positive Footprints

Single Dwelling, Addition/Alteration

·       Passive Butterfly

·       L-House

·       Vasey House

Cheese House

Public & Urban Design

·       krakani lumi

·       Foreshore Amenities

Sunshine Coast University Hospital

Multiple Dwelling

·       The Prince’s Terrace Adelaide

·       Clyde Mews

·       The General

Gen Y Housing


·       Phoenix Rooftop

·       Bendigo Garden for the Future

·       The Burcham

Adelaide Botanic Gardens Wetland

Interior Architecture

·       The Burcham

·       Italianate House

Henry Street House


·       e-Board

·       The Footprint Calculator

·       The GreenBook

La Trobe University Integrated Stormwater Management Project


·       Wallan Veterinary Hospital

·       Melrose Health

New category.

Green Building of the Year

·       The Prince’s Terrace Adelaide

·       The Beehive

·       The Burcham

New category.

Education & Research

·       Macquarie University Incubator

·       Synergy, CSIRO

·       Sustainable House

Charles Sturt University School of Engineering


·       One Malop Street

·       The Beehive

·       Barwon Water HQ

EY Centre, 200 George Street


Emerging Architect of the Year

·       Jean Graham, Director of Winter Architecture

·       Mathew Hinds, Architect/Director of Taylor and Hinds Architects

·       Sarah Lebner, Lead Architect of Light House Architecture & Science

New category.



“The high calibre of entrants for this year’s awards reflects the depth of talent in Australia’s architecture and design community, as well as their ever-increasing commitment to sustainability and environmentally-friendly design”, says Architecture & Design editor, Branko Miletic.


The winners of each category, including Achievement of Merit and Best of the Best categories, will be announced at the Gala Awards Dinner, to be held at The Star on 11 October, 2018.


For the second year running, the Awards ceremony will also be preceded by a day-long CPD-endorsed panel event, that has quickly gained popularity in the industry.


For more information about the 12th Annual Architecture & Design Sustainability Awards, visit www.sustainablebuildingawards.com.au or call Branko Miletic, Editor at Architecture & Design (details below).



About Sustainability Awards & Sustainability Awards 2018

The Sustainability Awards is the nation’s most respected and longest running awards program for sustainable building and design. We reward those who share our desire to curtail and reverse the ecological footprint of our built environment, bringing together those who design, manufacture and construct green buildings and products of all sizes and purposes. The awards program is supported by Sustainability Live – a daytime education series of live panel discussions and Q&A with highly regarded industry experts, endorsed by the Australian Institute of Architects (AIA) Refuel Program.



Media Contact

Branko Miletic: Editor, Architecture and Design

Phone: 02 9018 2039

Email: Branko.Miletic@architectureanddesign.com.au