| Share

20th NSW ICT Entrepreneur of the Year Award

Call for nominations

The search for Australia’s best techpreneurs is on again. Named in honour of Australian computing pioneer Dr Trevor Pearcey, the State Pearcey Award is aimed at encouraging and rewarding fresh and innovative talent in the ICT and digital media professions. It is awarded to an individual who is an established and successful tech entrepreneur that has demonstrated innovative and pioneering achievement and contribution in their chosen industry and can demonstrate that they taken a risk, made a difference and is an inspiration.
Previous NSW winners include:
2017  Tim Fung and Jonathan Lui, co-founders of Airtasker
2015  Melanie Perkins, co-founder and CEO of Canva
2014  Ben Richardson and Dave Greiner, founders of Campaign Monitor and Tim Power, managing director for 3P Learning
2013  Naomi Simson, founder of Red Balloon and Simon Clausen, founder of Startive Ventures and PC Tools
2012  Jo Burston, founder and managing director, Job Capital and Mitch Harper and Eddie Machaalani, founders of BigCommerce
2010  Lars and Jens Rasmussen, founders of Google Maps and Google Wave
2008  Mike Cannon-Brookes and Scott Farquhar, co-CEO's of Atlassian Software Systems
There are currently 130 members in the Hall of Fame; individuals who have made very significant lifetime contributions into one or more of Australia's ICT research, industry, or professional development.
Nominations for the 2018 award are invited from the public and can be made here.

Judging will commence September 24, with a shortlist of finalists made by mid October.

The Award will be presented by David Thodey, Chair of Jobs4NSW and CSIRO on Thursday November 1 at 5.30pm at the Sydney Startup Hub, 11–31 York St, Sydney.

As well as the Award presentation, the evening will feature a pitching competition between companies from incubators at NSW universities, and presentations by finalists in the NSW Young ICT Explorer initiative for school children.
All State Pearcey Award Winners are finalists for the National Pearcey Entrepreneur of the Year Award. The winners will be drawn from all sectors of the ICT industry including (but not limited to) computing science, the internet, communications, social media and networking, interactive media, and games.
For further information, please visit pearcey.org.au

For interviews and enquiries, please contact:
Simon Foster
0410 984577