| Share

INDE.Awards 2019 receives record number of entries

Entries now closed

With entries now closed and judging soon to commence, the INDE.Awards is gearing up for its biggest year yet. Organisers, Indesign Media Asia Pacific, are thrilled to report a record-breaking number of entries in 2019, received from across the Indo-Pacific region. 

More than 420 entries were submitted into 11 Jury-decided categories, with a recorded 43 per cent increase on entry registrations (year-on-year, 2017-2019). 

Awarding the most progressive architecture and design in the Indo-Pacific, this year saw submissions from 14 countries within the region. A record number of entries were received from countries including Australia, New Zealand, Singapore, Hong Kong, India, Vietnam and Thailand.

“We’re really excited to receive so many great quality entries from across the region,” said Indesign Media Asia Pacific CEO, Raj Nandan. “As the first and only awards program of its kind in the Indo-Pacific, we provide a large and diverse creative community with a level playing field to celebrate their most progressive and outstanding work,” said Mr Nandan.

“With judging soon to commence, we wish all our INDE.Awards 2019 entrants the very best of luck. It has been our pleasure to connect with you and support you through the entry process and beyond.”

Nominees announced – The Luminary and The Prodigy

Complementing the INDE.Awards’ 11 Jury-decided categories are two exclusive nominee-only categories, The Luminary and The Prodigy. Each category encompasses four contenders nominated by Indesign Media Asia Pacific’s regional team of Editors. 

The Luminary recognises the lifetime achievements and ongoing contributions of an industry icon. Those nominated into The Luminary category have a long established practice and, through their work, have made a lasting impact on both their local community, as well as their wider profession. 

The Prodigy celebrates the industry’s up-and-coming ‘wunderkind’. Devoted to individuals and/or studios within their first five years of business, this category puts the spotlight on trend-setters who take an innovative and experimental approach to architecture and design. 

Both The Luminary and The Prodigy calls on the global design community to get involved and vote for their ultimate Luminary and Prodigy via People’s Choice voting. 

People’s Choice voting period runs 21 March-1 May 2019, with all INDE.Awards category winners announced at the annual VIP Gala event in Melbourne, 21 June 2019.

Key dates
22 February Judging commences 
21 March – 1 May People’s Choice voting open for The Luminary and The Prodigy categories 
30 April Official Shortlist announced 
21 June Winners announced at Gala event

For more information or quotes please contact: Media enquiries: Kobe Johns +61 2 9368 0150 kobe@indesign.com.au

Presenting The Luminary nominees 2019

Budiman Hendropurnomo Director Denton Corker Marshall (Jakarta studio) Jakarta, Indonesia
Jon Goulder Designer Maker, Senior Designer Snøhetta Architects (Australasia) Adelaide, Australia

Rachel Neeson Director Neeson Murcutt Architects Sydney, Australia

Yip Yuen Hong Principal ip:li Architects Singapore

Presenting The Prodigy nominees 2019
Emily Ho & Wilson Lee Founders Studio Adjective Hong Kong
Felicity Slattery & Sarah Cosentino Founders Studio Esteta Melbourne, Australia

Dave Bickmore & Graham Charbonneau Founders Studio Gram Adelaide, Australia

Nita Yuvaboon & Prow Puttorngul Founders NITAPROW Bangkok, Thailand