Homepage Pearcey Foundation newsroom

Matthew Wilson wins 2019 ACT Chief Minister’s Pearcey Entrepreneur Award

Announcement posted by Pearcey Foundation 10 Oct 2019

The Pearcey Foundation today announced Matthew Wilson, CEO of Penten as this year’s recipient of the ACT Chief Minister’s Pearcey Entrepreneur Award. The award was presented by Senator (ret’d) Kate Lundy representing the ACT Chief Minister Andrew Barr at the Pearcey Round Table 2019 event in Canberra.
The Pearcey Award recognises entrepreneurs for taking a risk, making a difference and inspiring others in the development of the Australian information and communications technology industry.

Matthew Wilson is a co-founder and the CEO of Penten, a rapidly growing cyber security business based in Canberra, Australia.  In four years Penten has grown to 60 engineers supporting defence and national security clients in Australia, the United Kingdom, Canada and New Zealand. Penten delivers breakthrough cyber simulation and secure mobility services and technologies including the award-winning AltoCrypt secure mobile access solutions.

Matthew is a successful technology entrepreneur with almost 20 years’ experience in the development and commercialisation of cyber security and communications technologies. Matthew led the team that successfully built and exited an award-winning cyber security business to US defence contractor Northrop Grumman in 2012, and an IP communications start-up to unified communications vendor ShoreTel (now part of Mitel) in 2015.

An experienced administrator and business strategist with international experience, Matthew is on the board of UK cyber security firm Amiosec Ltd and leading cycling analytics firm Today’s Plan.

“This is a well-deserved award. Matthew is a serial entrepreneur, founding two successful companies with pioneering technology – Penten and M5 Networks both in networking and cybersecurity.” said Brand Hoff AM, ACT Chair, Pearcey Foundation.
The Pearcey Awards are the most prestigious national ICT awards and, as the ACT winner, Matthew will travel to Melbourne to compete in the national awards and the Pearcey Hall of Fame.
The Pearcey Foundation would like to acknowledge the ongoing support of the ACT Government and the Chief Minister Andrew Barr by endorsing and participating in this prestigious ICT award.
For more information about previous ACT Pearcey Entrepreneur Award winners, go to https://pearcey.org.au/act.

Other 2019 State Awards
  • NSW: to be presented at Sydney Startup Hub on 10 October.
  • QLD: to be held in collaboration with CICTA (Council of ICT Associations in Queensland) on 15 October at Hillstone, St Lucia. See further https://pearcey.org.au/qld.
  • SA: nominations are now open for the 2019 South Australian Pearcey Entrepreneur Award. Award to be presented on 30th October at Lot 14, Adelaide.
  • TAS: nominations are now open for the 2019 Tasmanian Pearcey Entrepreneur Award. Event details to be finalised shortly.
  • VIC: awarded to Craig McDonald, CEO and Founder of MailGuard and BlackEvents
  • WA: presented to Robert Nathan, CEO and Founder of Australian Tenders, as part of the WAITTA Incite Awards on 14 June.

About the Pearcey Foundation
The Pearcey Foundation Inc. is a non-profit organisation established in 1998 to raise the profile of the Australian Information and Communications Technology (ICT) industry and profession. It was created in the memory of one of the greatest pioneers of the Australian ICT industry, Dr Trevor Pearcey. By celebrating the heroes in our industry, past, present and future, the Foundation is looking to attract and encourage young Australians into this most exciting of global high technology sectors of our nation.

Web: www.pearcey.org.au
Twitter: @Pearcey_org #PearceyAwards #pearcey
LinkedIn: Pearcey Foundation #PearceyAwards #pearcey

Media Contacts

Martin Aungle

PR Manager

Additional Resources

Download our logo