| Share

Wheelchair Rugby League announces Australian Test Squad & Coaching Staff

Wheelchair Rugby League Australia has announced a 16-man train-on squad for the upcoming two-match Test Series against England in October.


Majority of the squad has been selected after strong performances in the Wheelchair State of Origin held back in July, with 11 of the 16-man squad chosen from the victorious New South Wales side.


The squad will go into camp September 21-22 at the Hawkesbury Indoor Stadium for training before a final squad of ten is chosen for the fixtures on October 21st (Sydney) and 23rd (Wollongong).


"We’re delighted with the squad that Brett Clark has chosen and are looking forward to hosting the 2019 Test Series against our old rivals England,” Wheelchair Australia Rugby League Chairman, Martin Meredith said.


“There’s some great players putting in the work now and I’m sure come October it will result in another thrilling contest for fans, family and friends who get to witness the series first-hand.”


Australian train-on squad


Liam Luff - NSW

Jason Attard - NSW

Cory Cannane - NSW

Brad Grove - NSW

Brett Henman - NSW

Michael Johnson - NSW

Craig Cannane - NSW

Edge Lole - NSW

Yara Ryan - NSW

Stephan Rochecouste - NSW

Davin Bretherthon - QLD

Shaun Harre - QLD

James Hill - QLD

Zachary Schmacher - QLD

Cory Mostran - QLD/NT

William Derederenalagi - NSW



The squad announcement was also supported by the news that David Nugent (Manager) and Brad Turnbull (Trainer) will be joining Head Coach, Brett Clark, as they prepare the team for the representative clash.



Media Contact:

Joanne Ryan | Infodec Communications for Wheelchair Rugby League Australia | 0421 059 866