| Share

60th Annual Good Design Awards Unveils New Sustainably Designed Trophy

Last Call for Entries! Deadline extended to Monday 19 March for entries in the 60th Annual Good Design Awards to be held at Sydney Opera House on 17 May 2018

Sydney, Australia: Australia’s prestigious Good Design Awards today unveiled a new sustainably designed trophy designed by The Evolve Group, winners of the 2016 Good Design Award of the year for the FLOW Hive. The trophy will be presented to winners at the 60th annual Awards ceremony held on 17 May 2018 for the first time at Sydney Opera House. Top honours will be presented by special guest, Danish architect Jan Utzon, son of Jørn Utzon architect of the Sydney Opera House.
Due to popular and last minute demand, the entry deadline for Australia’s prestigious Good Design Awards has been extended to midnight on Monday 19 March 2018. Recognising the best of Australian and international design, the Awards have already attracted significant interest from Australia and overseas with innovative projects entered across 10 design disciplines. 
In celebration of the 60th year of Australia’s oldest and only international design awards, winners will be presented with a new sustainably designed and made Good Design Award winner’s trophy. The new trophy design uses a clever combination of discarded plastic harvested from the ocean and a plant-based bio resin that will be injection moulded into an elegant “Good Design Tick”.
Commenting on the new trophy design, Dr Brandon Gien, CEO of Good Design Australia said, “Designers play a critical role in deciding what material to use and specify when designing and manufacturing products and in many cases, these materials can be harmful to our environment. Our oceans are currently being polluted with single-use plastic with recent studies predicting that by 2050, there will be more plastic in our oceans than fish.”
“Designers and manufacturers have the choice to use recycled, renewable, bio-based materials that reduce the dependence on fossil fuel based products and materials that will never break down. By utilising sustainably designed materials, the new trophy embodies Good Design Australia’s mission to create a better, safer and more sustainable world, through design.” Dr. Gien went on to say.
The 2018 Good Design Award winners will be decided by a jury of leading international design experts including the legendary Hartmut Esslinger, founder of global design firm frog design and one of the early pioneers of industrial design at Apple. Projects will be assessed on three overarching design criteria including: Good DesignDesign Innovation and Design Impact.
To mark the 60th Anniversary of the Awards, a number of new awards and initiatives have also been launched to promote the value and importance of design including the Better World Award, Good Design Team of the Year Award and an Indigenous Designer Award, created to recognise and celebrate the important contribution that Australia’s Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander designers make to Australian design across the spectrum of design disciplines and practice.
Alongside the Awards, and celebrating enduring quality design over the past 60 years, is an unprecedented three-day Good Design Showcase Exhibition at the Overseas Passenger Terminal, Circular Quay in Sydney from Friday 25 to Sunday 27 May 2018. Forming part of Vivid Sydney, the world's biggest festival of light, music and ideas, this free to the public exhibition will bring together more than 300 award-winning and game-changing designs from 1958 to now.
Entries for the 2018 Good Design Awards close at midnight, Monday 19 March 2018. Information on the awards is available and submissions are invited via Good Design Australia’s website: www.good-design.org
- Ends -
Notes to Editors:
For further information, interviews and images please contact Rhiannon Broomfield at Articulate on 0410 596 021 or Rhiannon@articulatepr.com.au or Freya Lombardo at Articulate 0403 162 220 or Freya@articulatepr.com.au
Press Pack including imagery can be found here:
Good Design Awards Key Dates:
19 March 2018            Entries Close – date extended
26–29 March 2018      Judging Week
12 April 2018               Good Design Award Winners Announced 
17 May 2018               Good Design Awards Ceremony, Sydney Opera House
25 to 27 May 2018      Good Design Showcase, Overseas Passenger Terminal, Sydney
About Good Design Australia and the Good Design Awards
The annual Good Design Awards program is one of the oldest and most prestigious international design awards in the world, promoting excellence in design and innovation since 1958. It is recognised by the World Design Organization (WDO) as Australia’s peak international design endorsement program. The Good Design Award accolade, more commonly known as the Good Design Tick, is among the most respected and recognised international design endorsement symbols in the industry. 
Good Design Australia is an international design promotion organisation responsible for managing Australia’s annual Good Design Awards and other signature design events. With a proud history that dates back to 1958, Good Design Australia remains committed to promoting the importance of design to business, industry, government and the general public and the critical role it plays in creating a better, safer and more prosperous world. www.good-design.org