| Share

Make your mark at INDE.Awards 2019

Here are 11 great reasons to enter INDE.Awards before 29 January.

INDE19_WebTile_1100x733px_STILLTIME.jpgAwarding the most progressive architecture and design in the Indo-Pacific, the INDE.Awards has built a platform and program that champions the most progressive work in the region. Architects and designers are invited to enter now, make their mark on the region and establish their voice among the world’s leading design names.

Entries close 29 January.

Symbolising the ‘coming together’ of a large and dynamic regional design community, the INDE.Awards is built upon the conviction that the Indo-Pacific produces the most outstanding architecture and design in the world. Integral to the INDE.Awards is its carefully developed platform of awards categories, and a finely tuned entry process tailored to the entrant and their geographic location. Categories encompass 11 Jury-decided awards categories, as well as two independent categories whereby nominated entrants are awarded based on People’s Choice voting.
Categories have been carefully curated to put the emphasis on progressive architecture and design, in all its forms, with a particular focus given to cultural context, location and user needs relative to that. 

Architect Palinda Kannangara, recipient of an Honourable Mention for The Living Space (2018), and an INDE.Awards 2019 Ambassador said: “The INDE.Awards is unique: without judging through a generic global lens, it celebrates diversity of architectural thought and design, recognising projects for their contextual approach and values, irrespective of scales. We were honoured that a project from our small island practice received this recognition.”

The INDE.Awards strives to deliver on its mission of supporting architecture and design across the Indo-Pacific, and present entrants with a level playing field for recognition and celebration. The INDE.Awards provides a scaled entry fee structure for select countries, which can be viewed in the following Entry Guide

Note to Editors | About the INDE.Awards 

The INDE.Awards is organised and presented by regional design and architecture publisher Indesign Media Asia Pacific, with the intent of recognising the Indo-Pacific region’s most progressive design and architecture on a global stage. As the Indo-Pacific’s first and only design awards program, the INDE.Awards remains unique and unparalleled in its mission: to unify the region and shine a spotlight on the buildings, spaces, objects and people putting it on the global map. 

Entries close for INDE.Awards 2019 on Tuesday 29 January. Buildings, spaces and objects completed between 1 January 2018 and 29 January 2019 will be accepted into the 2019 awards. Entries can be made online at indeawards.com.au The INDE.Awards 2019 gala ceremony will be held in Melbourne, June 2019. 

For more information, quotes or high resolution images please contact:
Kobe Johns
+61 2 9368 0150

INDE.Awards 2019 Categories

JURY Decided

The Building. The grand prize for the region’s most progressive architecture, The Building is awarded to the project that marks a new direction in the future of architecture as well as its capacity to respond to its local place and culture. 

The Multi-Residential Building. High-density living is about much more than efficiency. We honour a multi-residential building that is
designed with equal consideration for community, site, sustainability, human experience and market needs.

The Living Space. Homestead, shophouse or apartment, to live well is to respond to one’s place. We award the region’s most inspiring home, one that dwells thoughtfully and sensitively within its site and place, and responds with intelligence to its local context and culture.

The Work Space. The workplace is social and cultural, as much as it is functional. This award honours a workspace design that meets the demands of work and the needs of people.

The Social Space. Some of the most impressive spaces are those where people interact and play. We honour a hospitality or F&B space that tells a relevant story, captures the imagination, and brings people together.

The Shopping Space. Retail takes many guises today, but in physical retail spaces impact and experience are critical. We award a space with mastery over retail’s shifting ground.

The Learning Space. A spectrum of formal and informal spaces is emerging in the education context. We honour an environment that promotes connection and learning in the ways it needs to happen today.

The Wellness Space. The spaces in which we seek health and wellness services are evolving. We honour a place for wellness that gives equal emphasis to procedure and human experience.

The Design Studio. Whether architect, designer or a modern hybrid, this award esteems the studio that thinks differently, creates voraciously and challenges the norms.

The Influencer. How does design change our world for the better? The Influencer is a product or project that represents how design impacts the region and the world at large. The Influencer demonstrates how progressive design can improve the world.

The Object. Not all objects are created equal. We look at how they function, what they signify, and how they respond to the needs of people. Here, we award the region’s most original players in modern industrial design.

People’s Choice

The Prodigy. Forget following trends; this award honours someone who sparks them. The Prodigy sees no distinction between design disciplines. Vote for your wunderkind.

The Luminary. Whether casting a long shadow across many disciplines or excelling ahead of the pack in one, The Luminary recognises the ongoing contribution of an industry icon.